“Starting Is Easy, To Persevere Is An Art”

I said goodbye yesterday to my best friend and hubby (CH), as he left to begin his new job in Germany.  I have to stay in The States for a number of months to wrap things up here before I will be joining him.  It was a difficult thing to see him walk out the door of our home, knowing that in the next 6 months, I will probably only see him a handful of times.   I’m pretty sure the “Marriage Rule Book” frowns on that.     Rule #749:  Live on the same Continent.  I feel like a whinny baby when I talk about it.  I mean it isn’t unheard of that couples have to live apart for various reasons at some time in their marriage. Military spouses do it all the time under much more difficult circumstances.  I do try though to focus instead on the positive aspects of living sans CH, like no one will cook uncovered food that splatters in the microwave…..or just in general leave messes in the kitchen.  I’m sure there are a few of my annoying habits he will be happy to be free of too, at least for a little while.

The first text I got from CH upon him arriving in Germany was “Shit.  Shit”  That can’t be good.  Nope.  When he was on the DB train from Frankfurt to Karlsruhe, someone stole his backpack which contained a lot of camera equipment, his laptop and money.  The backpack was very large and wouldn’t fit on his lap so he had no choice on the crowded train, but to to put it in the luggage rack above his seat. He thinks it was a duo set up, because when the train was coming to the Mannheim stop, a man distracted him asking for his help with a map.  He thinks while he was looking at the map and talking to the guy, someone else took his bag.  After some choice words to the universe, I’m pretty much over it now. I know it will take longer for CH though.  He is a very calm person and not much ever gets him upset…..except bad drivers or when he loses something.  Those two situations throw him from zero to ten in a flash.   We both know that in the big scheme of things possessions aren’t that important.  I’m grateful that he made it there safely.

For the next month or so I’m going to focus mostly on my German studies  I tried to sign up for an online German 1 class at a Community College, but unfortunately the class was closed.  I’ve been searching the internet for a more beefy curriculum than Duolingo.  I’ve found a few things, but I’m open to any suggestions if anyone knows of something good.  I definitely have some time on my hands.

Anfangen ist leicht, beharren eine Kunst.

7 thoughts on ““Starting Is Easy, To Persevere Is An Art”

  1. So sorry to hear about what happened to your husband! Definitely one of those situations where the bright side is that property can be replaced and at least he is safe!

    Hope your time apart flies by. It’s hard, but can be a fun countdown when you get closer to the time you start your life in Germany. Things to look forward to! 🙂

  2. Fluenz is a helpful language program, but unfortunately it is quite costly. Nevertheless, I recommend you to try it out. It did help me a lot! That’s the only program I am satisfied with. I hope that your husband will not be in a similar situation ever again! Wish him and you all the best!

  3. I just wrote a looooong message about learning german and suddenly the browser crashed. So here it goes again with much less words.
    First I don’t know if you ever saw this but I found it quite funny: http://www.kombu.de/twain-2.htm#x1
    Now about the apps, I like Duolingo but my favorite free app is Mind Snacks. It’s the only thing that engraved numbers, colors and house furniture in my mind. It has really helped me to learn those simple basic things.
    But as a more consistent and grammar learning tool I’ve been using Babbel. It’s a paid course and it is very well structured and nice.
    I’ve been living here for 3 months and even though I can only say simple simple things, in the last few weeks I’ve started understanding what people say. I have no idea how, as I really don’t know the words, but I know what they said. Weird, but I guess listening to it on a daily basis is helping a lot.
    Good luck with it! And contact me if you want to talk more about good ol’ Germany. ;o)

Leave a Reply

